Waiting

Waiting is tough. I think it is even harder in our instant society. I love being able to type a question into a search engine and receive immediate results. To add, we can buy things on the internet and have them delivered to our front door in just hours (Thanks Amazon). The convenience of these things, and many others, have made our lives easier and more difficult. We can all recognize many positive results from the convenience of our instant societal developments. However, it is more difficult to see the negatives, or maybe better labeled as challenges.

One of the biggest challenges for me is waiting; I want it now. Waiting can cause anxiety. Waiting gives us a chance to question our decisions, in that it gives us the time to weigh the pros and cons. It just does not feed the need of immediate gratification.

In the beginning of October 2016, I had a conversation with God that I will never forget. While I don’t remember the actual date, the questions and answers will never be forgotten; doors were closed and doors were opened. I asked God where we were to live if He wanted us to stay at our current church. Within minutes of asking that question, I was looking at our new home online. It was the first home in the search that God led me to. Just days after that conversation, I was walking the six acres of our new home. Standing in the middle of the pasture is said, “Please, Papa, can we have this place?”

Since then, it has been a period of waiting and trusting. We have seen God do some amazing things during this time. Hurry up and wait has been the process. To add, we still have not closed on the house; we should close in a couple of weeks. God has met one difficulty after another with solutions that only He could have orchestrated. I am learning that waiting gives us a chance to see God’s hand in even the smallest decisions of our lives. I want to give you SO many details, but you’ll have to wait!

One thought on “Waiting

Leave a comment